Elementary & MS Fests

Updated & Info for the 2023-2024 School Year
Kathleen Boyer, Fest Coordinator

Elementary & Middle School Directors – we encourage you to get involved with our PMEA Fests!  These are excellent learning opportunities  and musical experiences for your outstanding students.   If you are new to your teaching position, or if you have not recently participated in PMEA Fests, we encourage you to contact the fest hosts below to inquire about getting your students involved.  If you have participated in one of these fests previously, your name should be in the email group, so look to receive an email from the hosts if you have not already.

What are PMEA Fests?

  • Held each year, PMEA Fests are one-day events where outstanding students from participating schools come together for a day of music rehearsal with a guest conductor, culminating with an evening concert.
  • Participating students must be nominated and accompanied by their school music teacher (director), and participating teachers must be current members of PMEA.  (See PMEA State Website Statement)
  • In the fall, participating directors nominate outstanding students to be selected for participation.
  • Once the ensemble is selected and announced, directors assist their students with preparing the music, completing all necessary paperwork and parent permissions, and arranging for student transportation to the fest.
  • On the day of the fest, participating directors attend the fest (directors must be present during the entire day) and assist/supervise as needed.
  • The day of rehearsal concludes with an evening concert for family & friends

Click here to download the fest forms in Spanish.

CONTACT THE HOSTS BELOW FOR MORE INFO:

2024 Fests (Chronological Order)

5/6 Chesco Band Fest – February 2, 2024 at West Chester East High School –
Conductor: Dr. Steven Selfridge
Hosts:
Samuel Stewart –  sstewart@avongrove.org
Kyle Risch –  krisch@wcasd.k12.pa.us

Elementary Chorus Fest – March 8, 2024 (snow date March 12)  at Radnor High School –
Conductor: Joy Hirokawa
Hosts by: Beth Hacker – beth.hacker@rtsd.org

7/8 Chorus Fest – March 15, 2024 – Strath Haven Middle School
Conductor Dr. Erina Pearlstein –
Hosts:
Sarah Elsheak – selsheakh@wssd.org
Georgia La Rue – glarue@mnsd.org

5/6 Delco Band Fest- March 19, 2024 (snow date March 21) at Radnor High School
Conductor -Dr. Jenny Neff
Hosts:
Andrew Urbina – Andrew.urbina@rtsd.org
Brittany Truscott – Brittany.truscott@interborosd.org

5/6 String Fest – April 11, 2024 at Garnet Valley Middle School
Conductor: Angela Ammerman
Hosts:
Erick Wunder – wundere@garnetvalley.org
Jenna Burke – burkej@garneAtvalley.org

7/8 String Fest – April 16 (snow date – April 17) – at Marple Newtown High School
Conductor: Gary White
Hosts:
James Finegan – jfinegan@episcopalacademy.org
Jordan Marmelstein – jmarmelstein@mnsd.org